Zachary David Kaufman

just another page on the internet

the long story

Prayer is a discipline that I neglect. Whether it is busyness or whatever, I don’t really avoid it but simply don’t make time for it. I’ve longed to develop a rhythm of prayer. I make up my mind to do one thing, but then do the opposite. After reading a great post by Ben Myers about prayer I felt compelled to try something old, rather than something new.

Enter collects.

I’m enrolled in some theological education right now. In one of my classes, once a week a student writes and prays a collect. My goal is to do this once a week.

This happened three weeks ago. So I’m going to share them here as a way of keeping me on track. I doubt it will really work, but let’s try it anyway. More doing, less planning.

Written by zdkaufman

March 1, 2010 at 12:35 am

Posted in Prayer

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] a comment » Long story short, I’ve taken up writing collects. It is part of a growing desire in me to pray […]

  2. I like it, and I love the beauty and richness that can be found in written prayers. God bless bro.

    P.S. – Ben Myers is solid. I love his heart for the Lord coupled with a brilliant mind.

    Ben

    March 1, 2010 at 12:59 am

  3. You should post them to the Christ Church site as well!

    Ben Sternke

    March 1, 2010 at 11:04 am

    • Where at? Just under Blog?

      zdkaufman

      March 3, 2010 at 9:17 am


Comments are closed.

